Judicial Retention Information

The November 8, 2022 ballot in Johnson County, Kansas will contain 27 Judicial Retention questions.

Kansas Supreme Court

Find information about the Kansas Supreme Court here.

Retention question for Supreme Court Justice, positions 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, & 7 will be on the November 8, 2022 ballot.

Seven justices sit on the Kansas Supreme Court. Each was selected through a merit-based nomination process Kansas voters added to our state Constitution in 1958. The process involves the nine-member Supreme Court Nominating Commission, which reviews nominees, and the governor, who makes the appointments.

After a justice's first full year in office, he or she must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain on the court. If a majority of votes are cast to retain the justice, he or she remains in office for a term of six years. Justices are subject to a similar retention vote every six years.

The current Kansas Supreme Court Justices can be found here

Kansas Court of Appeals

Information about the Kansas Court of Appeals can be found here

Retention question for the Court of Appeals Judge positions 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, & 13 will be on the November 8, 2022 ballot.

The 14-judge Court of Appeals hears all appeals from orders of the Kansas Corporation Commission and all appeals from district courts in both civil and criminal cases, except those that may be appealed directly to the Supreme Court.

Court of Appeals judges are appointed by the governor and confirmed by a majority vote of the Senate. Judges serve four-year terms and are retained for successive terms by public vote.

The current Kansas Court of Appeals Judges can be found here.

10th Judicial District Court (Johnson)

Information about the 10th Judicial District Court can be found here.

Retention question for the District Court Judge, District 10, Divisions 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18, & 19 and for District Magistrate Judge, District 10, Position 1 & 2 will be on the November 8, 2022 ballot.

District courts are trial courts, with general original jurisdiction over all criminal and civil cases, including divorce and domestic relations, damage suits, probate and estate administration, guardianships, conservatorships, care of the mentally ill, juvenile matters, and small claims. This is where criminal and civil jury trials take place.

District courts are created by the Constitution. They are the trial courts of Kansas, with general original jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases.

The current Johnson County District Court Judges can be found here